It’s ABOUT TIME! :) The Personal Fitness & Diet update…

Oh my goodness!  I have been a WP Slacker!  There is so much to post… It gets overwhelming when you have so much to say and don’t know where to begin!  So, if you want a full update go stalk my Tumblr or my Facebook (feel free to ‘friend’ me!) 

So- where to begin?!

Exercise:

Image

Whew!  This is an INTENSE workout!  I thought I would be a PRO after doing Turbo Fire but OH NO… not even close!  The first time I couldn’t even get through the warmup!  (I really stopped like 4 times!  By the end of the first month I could USUALLY get through it but not every time.  I definitely saw improvement in my Fit Test at the end of month 1:

Switch Kicks: 107 v 113, Power Jacks: 44 v 47, Power Knees: 83 v 94, Power Jumps: 29 v 28, Globe Jumps: 5 v 7 (That is A LOT of Globe Jumps!  Those suckers are HARD!), Suicide Jumps: 15 v 18, Push-up Jacks: 20 v 26 (wow!), Low Plank Oblique: 46 v 60.  So yeah, definite improvement!! 🙂

But, I haven’t seen significant changes in weight or measurements… but I do suspect that I have greater muscle mass vs. fat.  I’m going to invest in a scale that does BF% or one of those hand-held devices that measures it.  I’d really like to be able to track that!  I believe it is one of the best ways to measure progress along w/ Blood Pressure, Cholesterol, Fitness ability and Heart Rate.

Diet:

Sadly, I have not been tracking what I eat… which I know has worked against me!  Mostly I have been eating clean- not a ton of junk food.  Still using Shakeology almost every day and have come to the conclusion after much research (including reading Dr. Weil’s Books- which I highly recommend) that supplementation w/ superfoods, probiotics etc. is essential to establishing and maintaining optimum health.  

Image

You just can’t POSSIBLY get all of these nutrients from your diet!  You can’t physically eat enough!  I can’t even FIND maitake mushrooms to cook for myself- and wouldn’t WANT to eat them every day…  If I didn’t use this supplement I would absolutely be using at the very least a probiotic, an adaptogen, a phytonutrient and an antioxidant blend.  I know these would cost me $$. So, I’ve come to the conclusion that Shakeo is worth it to me.  Also adding flax seed (see previous post). Let’s see… have been eating less: breads, rice, red meat, lunch meats, ice cream, cereal, milk, yogurt, cheese (learning that dairy is not so excellent for you and the good yogurts are actually really high in sugars….  Eating more: quinoa, kale (roasted- YUMMO), sauteed veggies (onions, snap peas, zucchini (love!), peppers, korean sweet potatoes, LOTS of fruit including berries, mangos, bananas, more TEA (excited about this new addition!!  Decaf Herbals at night mostly- so far really like STASH’s blueberry the best), and more oatmeal (trying out stone ground).  Also eating Clif Bars as a mid-afternoon “on-the-way-home” from work ‘meal’ – trying to get ready to workout & also prevent the craving when I get home – doesn’t always work..

Image Image Image Image

 

Buuuuutt… in between meals have not been as fabulous and have included such items as: PEANUT BUTTER (especially when I arrive home… and before bed… WHY? I add 1 Tbsp to my Shakeo in the AM which would be OK except then if I have 1 TBSP when I get home & then another before bed I am eating nearly 300 cal/day in PB..), jelly bellies (they were on sale…?), marshmallows (hungry at the store..), rice cakes (on sale.. why did I buy those yesterday?), dog biscuits (Just kidding!  Making sure you were reading!), skittles (lunch was gross that day- didn’t have a mint to cover up the taste..) and luigi’s italian ice.  Now, I don’t think these things would be so bad BUT I shouldn’t be having them every day… I fool myself into thinking that “This is my ‘treat’ today.” and I usually don’t have more than one (I don’t have skittles & jelly bellies on the same day- for instance.)  But, I still shouldn’t be eating a ‘treat’ every day of the week.

Image Image

What am I doing to try to counter these poor choices?  Well…. I learned how to make Shakeology no-bake cookies & peanut butter cup candies!  & YUM – YES, YUM!!  Using PB2 instead of regular PB- 1/4 the calories, all natural, less sugar & fat, no preservatives & junk!  Trying to replace nighttime cravings w/ herbal tea (not quite working just yet…) I need something to ‘chew on’… Any suggestions what I could add to my tea?!?  Like… a chewable stick or something?!  lol

Image Image (Image

 

And yes, I really did make those beautiful candies!  They were not nearly as difficult as I thought they would be- I’ve never made candy before. 🙂  I’ve also been carrying fruit with me (mostly apples but also peaches, bananas, cherries or blueberries)  Problem: when they are not ripe… 😦  I get very disappointed & discouraged… Hmm should try carrying pears too.. those are pretty tough suckers & not too sensitive to heat… (peaches & other soft fruits can be problematic.)

Image

 

 

Ok- That’s enough for this post.  I won’t overwhelm you with everything all at once!! 🙂  

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

What are your thoughts?

