Proof that I am not an Artist….

 

Let me tell you about my friend, Carissa.  She’s one of my best friends from undergrad- back in the days before pharmacy when my life consisted of conjugating French verbs and watching Italian films…  She has since found her way into a career in the music industry- working with artists of all sorts and organizing festivals and other exciting things like attending the Queen of England’s Diamond Jubilee..

So, she’s fabulous.  I truly admire her.  She works hard and I am so proud of all that she has accomplished.

Her birthday was this past Monday.  Fortunately, I was in town and was excited to be able to spend the evening with her and some friends.  We had a great time.  But… I did feel a little out of place.  Her friends are also in the entertainment industry.  The conversation topics were: music videos, music, photography (Oh yeah, Carissa is also an AMAZING photographer…), art, dance… My standy-by conversation starters “So, I saw a leg amputation last week…” and “I was working on a Medication Not Given report…” or even “I went to a Shaun T workout…” just didn’t seem appropriate…

There was dancing (I don’t know the last time I saw people dancing… My first thought was “Disinhibition” as a side effect of a paralytic agent…).  There was impromptu live music and there was fire spinning… All things that are outside of the realms of “pharma” and “fitness.”  I thought to myself, “Wow.  I am really dull.  I need more art in my life.  I’m not sure I even know what fun is anymore…”

So, you might have expected that the next day I would be searching the internet for creative inspiration- uncovering unique art and music and trying to learn bellydance…

But no, the next day, I was researching herbal medicine!  Scouring the internet for classes, resources and Continuing Education opportunities…  I had completely forgotten that I was supposed to be on an artistic quest as I excitedly texted my fellow pharmacist friend, “I just found some great CE’s on the NCCAM website!!” and spent a fascinating hour and a half on the phone with another pharmacist comparing notes about Medication Therapy Management.  And yes, these activities got my heart pumping, gave me goosebumps at times and I even experienced shortness of breath due to my excitement…

After a full day of pharmacy-related adventures I killed myself doing Insanity with my mom – went to bed, exhausted and happy… and didn’t bellydance once.

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

What are your thoughts?

