“Ain’t No Fool” 90 Day Challenge!

First a quick wrap-up of the past month- I was supposed to be following the Turbo Fire schedule.  Well, I was and I wasn’t.  I was going to Fit Club twice a week and we did Turbo Jam, Turbo Fire, P90X, Brazil Butt Lift and others… I mainly did TF but didn’t follow the schedule and instead chose workouts that fit the time I had available.  Starting back to rotations after being gone for so long was challenging.  So, I still saw some results but it wasn’t dramatic.  I did start drinking shakeology daily but that’s a discussion for another day. 🙂  TODAY we will talk about my fabulous Challenge Group and plans for the next 90 days! 🙂

Monday, April 2nd marked the start of a new 90 day Challenge!  I and 4 other fabulous ladies made the commitment to ourselves and each other to stick to our workout programs (I’ll be doing P90X/ Turbo Fire Hybrid)  and to keep our diets clean.  We are motivating and encouraging each other through this.  It’s exciting to be starting something with a small group- we are getting to know one another- sharing our goals, our strengths and weaknesses, our achievements and our challenges.  I am so thankful to them for making the decision to join me in this journey!  I love hearing about their experiences and to being able to share my own.  (Not everyone wants to hear about how sore your thighs are or what you ate yesterday…)

I have only 4 weeks left until Graduation!!!  WHAT?  Yep… 4 weeks!  That means I’ve got to “Kick it up a notch!” Time to burn this bum!  (Let me tell you… after P90X’s Legs & Back on Friday and then Fire 45 yesterday my Tush is Mush!)

A few thoughts about P90X – So, I’ve had the program for about a year now.  I bought it because I thought my husband would want to do it.  (I was doing Chalean Extreme at the time.)  But, of course, he hasn’t… ANYHOO I thought it would still be too difficult- that I wouldn’t get a good workout in b/c I wouldn’t be able to do anything.   Well, I probably wouldn’t have been able to do it in 2009 but in 2012 I am kickin’ it!  Umm.. except for the pull-ups… BUT amazingly, on Monday I could do NONE and then on Friday I was able to do 1 at a time!  I could do a full, SOLID pull up and slowly lower and then if I waited about 2 minutes I could do another one!  Now… in the video they do about 15-20.  I am nowhere near that but I am getting better! 🙂  When I can’t do anymore I just use the bands so that I keep working instead of just standing around.  I’ve missed this kind of intense weight training and the incredible soreness that follows.  Doing cardio I don’t generally get sore so I’m excited to see what kind of changes will be happening.  And no, you don’t burn a ton of calories doing weight training if your heart rate doesn’t get high enough (my Polar monitor says I burned only 200 in an hour and a half!)  but you ARE re-shaping and building your muscles and THAT has an impact on form and on daily calorie burn!  (Both cardio & strength are important!)  Turbo Fire has some strength but it’s nowhere near as intense as this…

So, here are my “Before” photos this time around (These would also be “afters” of my 90 days of Turbo Fire but since the last month wasn’t totally consistent that’s a little sketchy..)

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by dreamlifemoments on April 8, 2012 - 6:31 pm

    I’ve become fitness obsessed – I started P90X again – on day 4 today- got to day 27 before- Know why I’m going to finish it this time? Because I want it more! – I run 5 miles a day and don’t know if that’s good or bad to do on the X- but I love running on the beach. I got excited when you told me you could do a pull up!! The day I can do one single pull up I will be so ecstatic. Thanks for blogging about your journey. I haven’t put a category on my blog about it- and it keeps popping back in my mind to do so. They say the greatest ideas keep coming back- thanks for the inspiration.

    • #2 by Fitness PhoenixX on April 8, 2012 - 7:39 pm

      Thanks so much for reading! 🙂 Congrats on starting P90X again! You’ve got to WANT it and enjoy the journey- you have to be really invested in the results and the ‘high’ from the workouts. 5 miles! Nice! If I lived near a beach I might want to do that too! I would think you’d need even more calories to keep that up while doing P90X!! I’d say just make sure you have enough “umph” to give P90X your “ALL” and if running is taking away from that then cut back a bit.

      I KNOW! It’s an amazing feeling to be able to pull myself all the way up! It’s just.. so satisfying! I feel like a five year old… when friends come over I have to hold myself back from “Hey! Look what I can do!!”

      I look forward to reading your blog. And, I would say fitness is a GREAT idea! 🙂 Glad my posts inspire!!

  2. #3 by Melanie on April 16, 2012 - 10:32 pm

    Good luck! I love challenges!!! They help me so much and keep me motivated!! I’m doing a fun 3 month one right now too.

    • #4 by Fitness PhoenixX on April 24, 2012 - 9:59 pm

      Thank you! 🙂 It’s great so far. Good luck & nice kicks! lol

What are your thoughts?

