“The Hunger Blogs”

So… I was going to write a lengthy, thought-out post about this.  Had actually started drafting it and then came across this article.  It is so much more thorough and well researched that I can’t compete so I’ll just share it.  All I can say is that since opening a Tumblr account I have seen way too many “thinspo” images and struggled with how to interact with these young girls.  I am terribly afraid for them.  I don’t want to push them away but rather live by example so that maybe they can help themselves into recovery and learn to live a healthy lifestyle.  But, I’m no psychologist.  Please read.

THE HUNGER BLOGS – Huffington Post

If you are struggling with an eating disorder please call: National Eating Disorders helpline at 1-800-931-2237.

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Melanie on February 11, 2012 - 3:46 am

    Holy cow, thanks for this eye opening post!! I’m so glad you are living a healthy lifestyle that can hopefully help some of these girls!

    • #2 by Fitness PhoenixX on February 11, 2012 - 5:46 am

      Thanks for reading. I was glad to find the article! I know it is a difficult thing they struggle with. We can only live by example…

  2. #3 by ramblinann on February 12, 2012 - 1:40 pm

    It is sad and scary that now these girls can encourage each other globally. If you can help one she can hopefully help one and so on.

    • #4 by Fitness PhoenixX on February 12, 2012 - 2:00 pm

      It is terrible. 😦 I have been interacting with one of them. She doesn’t think she has an eating disorder though- no matter how many messages from family, friends, bloggers she receives. But, that is very true- if you can help just one hopefully it trickles down. I talked to one girl who wanted to lose weight but also is in recovery. I recommended that she use non-scale fitness goals (how many reps she can do, how long she can run… that kind of thing.) Told her not to even get on the scale. She was receptive & appreciative. 🙂

      • #5 by ramblinann on February 12, 2012 - 2:27 pm

        That is good advice. The scale can be our worst enemy.

  1. Cosmic Messages and My Diet | Ramblin Ann's Blog

What are your thoughts?

