Beachbody Coaching – 1 Month Update

So, 1 month ago I signed up to be a Beachbody coach.  Here is a brief overview of my experience so far:

Support – I’ve had great support from my team, the Platinum Presenters.  I couldn’t be happier with my decision to join this team.  The facebook group is very active and helpful. There are many resources in the FB group documents and other coaches answer questions quickly.  The Platinum Presenters website and individual coaches help one another out a lot.  The team is growing very fast!  We have new coaches all the time – I can hardly keep up with welcoming them all to the FB group!  There are also great trainings and resources in the Beachbody online office.  So, there is plenty of support.  Oh, and when I became ‘Active” (logging workouts online) I received a cute pin! 🙂

Covering Costs – So, my main concern when starting was being able to cover the costs associated with being part of the BB Team ($15/month).  (The $40 coach fee was waived when I bought the Challenge Pack.)  I earned a $90 commission the first week because a co-worker ordered “Les Mills Pump” and some protein bars.  We talked about it a good bit beforehand and he is happy with his purchase so far.  So, that $90 covered my fees for 6 months!

Coach ‘Downline’ – I was very excited when my fellow WP blogger, Gina Guccione decided to join our team!  She has such an inspirational story and an excellent blog – I just knew she would make a great coach!  I couldn’t believe she wasn’t one already!  She very nearly signed up with another coach but after sharing a little about Platinum Presenters with her she enthusiastically switched over.  (You can ask her more about that if you like…)  Since then, we have had 2 new coaches placed in our downline for us by upline coaches.  (This is great because you really are supporting each other by building the team! – Important for Team Bonuses)  I still need one more coach in order to qualify for ‘Emerald’ status.  This is important because once you are Emerald, Beachbody will ‘give’ you customers and clients who sign up on the website.  BUT, you also have additional costs (keeping a ‘club membership’ ($12/month) and are required to maintain a certain amount of personal volume – products you purchase or that you earn in retail sales directly. I think it’s $30 a month or something…)  So, that’s roughly $45/month more cost to cover.  That’s pretty significant!  I don’t know how quickly Beachbody will assign customers after becoming Emerald so I don’t plan to do it without having a backup plan.  I’m not in a hurry, just taking it step by step so I don’t get in over my head.

Building a Business – So, basically, I am just genuinely sharing my story and inviting people to try Beachbody products – because I believe in them.  (Talking with friends & family but also via social media.)  I am not a sales person but just as a Pharmacist actually earns income through the sale of drugs, so a Beachbody coach earns income through the sale of fitness programs and nutrition products.  But, both are ultimately helping people achieve better health and happier lives!  (Honestly, I’d rather be on the side of preventative health measures via Beachbody than on the other through the sale of insulin and blood pressure medicines!)

Beachbody Coaches – There are A LOT of them! This is great and also intimidating.  I’ve learned that they are not all created equal and that some teams are better than others…  Some coaches are very pushy and annoying.  Some have great transformation stories.  Each have their own strengths and weaknesses.  Identifying my own have been important.  Asking myself, ‘What makes me different than other coaches?”  “What kind of coach do I want to be?”  While blogging I discovered that I preferred blogs that were not ‘preaching’ healthy living – but rather those that were more real – that shared their lives as much as the health tips they had learned along the way.  The folks that share important news and reputable information – not just re-blogging or constantly posting product promotions.  I strive to remain genuine and ‘real.’  I commit to posting quality content.  I refuse to be fake, creepy, pushy or preachy!

I am proud and happy to be a Beachbody Coach!  If you are interested in coaching, I hope I helped answer some of your questions!  What other questions do you have?

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by ramblinann on February 2, 2012 - 12:09 am

    It sounds like you are off to a great start. Like any business it takes time, but as long as you believe in what you are doing success will follow. Have fun with it.

    • #2 by Fitness PhoenixX on February 2, 2012 - 12:17 am

      Thanks for the encouragement! 🙂 It’s a lot of fun so far.

  2. #3 by Veggie V! @ Veggie V's Vegan Adventure on February 11, 2012 - 4:25 pm

    Wow. That is quite an expense. I may check into this further closer to summer. Thanks for sharing all that info! I’ve always wondered about the BB Coach thing.

    • #4 by Fitness PhoenixX on February 11, 2012 - 7:22 pm

      Veronica- No problem. 🙂 I didn’t think it was all that expensive… If you get a Challenge pack the $40 fee is waived and if you stay a retail level coach your only cost is $15/month… As you move up there are more ‘costs’ but also more opportunity for earnings so… like any business there are small investments that CAN produce big rewards. I’ll keep blogging about it & keeping you posted. 🙂 Let me know when you have questions! I just got done at a BB coach training & workout session (We did Plyometrics from P90X2) It was so fun! Great to be around so many positive people inspired to get fit & help others get fit too!

  3. #5 by Ashley Verkon on February 11, 2012 - 7:42 pm

    Loved the session and I am enjoying the blog! Thanks for all your help today – you answered a lot of my questions 🙂 Look forward to working out again soon.

    • #6 by Fitness PhoenixX on February 11, 2012 - 7:45 pm

      🙂 So glad you enjoyed it! Ditto. Good luck w/ TF!!

  4. #7 by Karen on June 26, 2012 - 3:26 am

    Would love to know more about your journey so far in the Coaching business. Curious you mentioned other teams, but I keep finding the platinum team pop up in searches, are the others not doing as well, or just not there for their coaches? Would love to chat some more, I ordered Chalene Extreme off an informercial a year ago, and I’m interested in Turbo Fire, would love to understand more about Coaching and why it seems that the platinum team is the way to go.

    • #8 by Fitness PhoenixX on July 19, 2012 - 1:44 pm

      Hello Karen! 🙂 Thanks for reaching out & I’m excited to hear that you are interested in coaching. 🙂 I’m actually drafting a new post (It’s been a while!) about my experience so far. I’m still really enjoying it and have actually made some extra money. Email me and we can talk some more. 🙂 mrobinsonrx@gmail.com I am happy to answer any questions!

What are your thoughts?

