“You look… different.”

Okay, so this is not the kind of post I expected to put up today.  But, for the benefit of those of you going through weight loss and healthy living journeys I’m putting this out there…

Last night I was working with a pharmacist who I hadn’t seen in a while.  We were discussing things totally unrelated to weight/health/exercise… Then, she notices that there is a photo of my husband and I on my computer’s desktop. (See below)

Pharmacist: “Oh, is that you and your husband?”

Me: “Yep.”

Pharmacist: “You were at Medieval Times.  That is a fun place.”

Me: “We enjoyed it.”

Pharmacist: (Looks at me and back at the computer screen)  “You look… different.”

Me: (joking) “Umm.. I’m not wearing scrubs a cleanroom gown, mask and bonnet?”

Pharmacist: “Were you thinner then?”  “Your face looks different.”

Me: (Did she seriously just say that..?) “Oh.  Yeah, a little… ahem.. ahh…  (pushing through the embarrassment and focusing on the opportunity to segue into a discussion about exercise…)  “I actually just started a new workout program called Turbo Fire.”

Pharmacist:  “Oh, well, you’re not that overweight.”

Me: “Ummm… Well, uhhh… I really like this exercise program.  It’s made by Beachbody – the same company that put out P90X. I’m working on losing it.”……..

Pharmacist: (Finally realizing she’s made me uncomfortable..)  (Looking back at the computer screen) “So.. where is your husband from?”

Okay, so… I try not to be too sensitive about issues surrounding weight.  Generally, I try not to take things too personally.  She made a faux-pas but didn’t mean it to be hurtful.  It surprised me that I had an emotional reaction to her comment.  That little punch in the gut.  I knew I had gained some weight back over the past year but no one had called me out on it.  I have been working for a month now to get it (and more) off and have come down 5 lbs.  But, it’s not all off yet (I gained around 10).  And, I guess 5 lbs on a 5′ 0″ frame is a lot and didn’t just settle on my hips. I really didn’t think it was that noticeable…

It’s nice when people comment about your weight loss, not so nice when they comment about a gain (especially when you have already lost some…).  I am not going to hold this against her… will just use it as motivation to keep pushing.  It’s really not an awful thing that she called me on it – it’s not comfortable but it was the truth.  It’s good to realize that people do see you – every day.  They do notice when you gain/lose.. It’s rude to judge someone about their weight but it’s also just a fact of life – a matter of health and how you appear to the world.  Just like my nose is a little off-center and I can’t do anything about that (without a lot of $ and pain..).

BUT I CAN do something about the weight! I could have handled the discussion better – might have been able to roll it right into a Beachbody discussion but I was a little choked.. Hopefully next time the conversation will be “You look different… are you thinner NOW?” 🙂

Medieval Times (Aug 2010)

December 2011

, ,

  1. #1 by akhomeschoolfun on January 30, 2012 - 4:04 am

    We’re the same height. Being short seems unfair sometimes. It takes less weight gain to show on us than taller women. Good for you for getting down 5 pounds.

    • #2 by Fitness PhoenixX on January 30, 2012 - 9:38 am

      I don’t mind being ‘petite’ – and it is frustrating that if we gain just a few lbs it shows! But, maybe a good thing too? So that we don’t fool ourselves into thinking it didn’t happen? I think I’ve dropped another couple the past 2 weeks… will have to wait until I get home to know for sure but my clothes are a little looser. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

