Why Exercise at Home? – 10 Compelling Reasons

It’s no secret that I am a huge fan of home workouts.  However, I realize that some people need to “get out of the house” to exercise and that they enjoy the environment of a Gym.  I encourage people to do what works for them.

But, if you have been considering trying to workout at home but haven’t started yet or think you might not get enough out of it or whatever your reason- I think I’ll have an argument to persuade you to try it.

1. Save TIME

Of all reasons to exercise at home, I think this is the biggest one.  How much time would you spend going to the Gym?  So, 5-10 minutes to pack your bag, get your water bottle ready etc. 15-30 minute drive to the Gym (for most people) and 15-30 minute ride back home.  That’s already 35 minutes – 1 hour and 10 minutes saved.

2. Convenience – Open 24 hours

There is no more convenient place to exercise than at home.  You don’t have to go anywhere or get dressed to look presentable (you can workout in your old, wrinkled, stained pajamas and no one will know!)  You can fit it into your schedule anytime you are already going to be home – mornings, evenings, weekends… You don’t have to remember to bring anything with you.  Forget your water bottle?  Nope, it’s in the Kitchen.  Headphones?  They are in the office.  Towel?  In the linen closet…  you get it..

3. Cleanliness

YOU are the only one touching your equipment.  There have been cases of horrible MRSA infections being spread through the use of Gym equipment.  The CDC has been putting out warnings to consumers to be aware of the dangers.  Not to mention catching the cold, flu etc. from the folks that used the equipment before you.  Yes, there are sanitary wipes available… but how many people actually use them?  Do you?  How much extra time does it take to wipe down every piece of equipment? (See #1..) (Not to mention avoiding the yummy smell of other people’s BO..)  SHOWERING AT HOME – Can’t be over-emphasized..

4. Privacy

If you are out of shape and self-concious about other people watching you exercise it can be a huge challenge to go to the Gym.  (I’ve been there… I was a member of a Gym solely because they had a Cardio Theater that was dark so I could watch a movie and no one could see me… then the dopes put WINDOWS in the Theater room!!)  You can wear whatever you want (See #2)…  Wouldn’t take off your shirt at the Gym when you get hot but strip down all you want at home!  Got gas?  Go ahead!

5. Variety

It may seem counter-intuitive but you can really incorporate a lot of different kinds of exercise at home.  Most people go to the Gym, hop on the treadmill or elliptical for the requisite 45 minutes then do a circuit or three on their favorite machines.  Some folks may opt for freeweights but that takes a little more thought…  Moving your body without the assistance of a machine (treadmill or weight…) actually burns more calories and takes more strength.  You get a BETTER workout at home simply by doing all the movement yourself!  When was the last time you saw someone doing kickboxing, zumba or other dance/ aerobics or drill exercises all by themselves at the gym?

6. Class Schedule

I’ve heard the complaint too many times – Folks love the classes offered at the gym but they are almost never offered at convenient times that match their work schedules.  Working people don’t have free hours in the middle of the day!  Guess what?  Pop in a “Class” Video ANYTIME at home!  Need a breather?  Hit Pause!  Your Gym class will keep going and leave you in the dust…

7. Availability of equipment

No waiting for one of the 6 ellipticals or your favorite weight machine to get free.  Your home Gym is NEVER busy! (See #1 and #2 again..)  Shucks, you don’t even NEED any equipment!  Got a Body?  JUST MOVE IT!

8. People

We all enjoy socializing but sometimes it can be difficult to balance friendly chatter with getting a good workout in the time you have allotted to go to the Gym (see #1 again..)  It is important to have supportive friends but an hour-long talk with your girlfriend walking on the treadmill is NOT the same as a good 30 minutes of Turbo Jam at home, alone.  Remember, if you aren’t out of breath occasionally, you’re not working hard enough…

9. Travel

You can take your home workout DVD’s with you wherever you go!  Going on a cruise?  Do you travel for work?  Do you have a hotel room? – You’ve got your Gym.  Staying with family?  Do they have a living room? Garage?  Even if your gym doesn’t have a branch where you will be visiting you can get your workouts in!  Resistance bands are small, light and effective.  If you already have the DVD’s & equipment and know how to use them it’s much easier to take your workouts with you.

10. Save MONEY

You will spend anywhere from $20 – $70 a month on a Gym membership. (Even the ones that offer $10/ month will charge you yearly fees & an enrollment fee that end up costing about $20/month)  That’s $240 – $840 per year for 1 person!  A good home workout program will cost you anywhere from $20 (Rockin’ Body) to $300 (Les Mills “Pump”).  You can do them as many times as you want, in any order you want as long as the DVD will last- YEARS!  You can buy as many or as few as you want.  Even if you buy extra equipment (a yoga mat, dumbbells, resistance bands etc. you may spend an extra $100)  And guess what? Everyone in your family can use it!  For an upper-end routine: $400 for 1 year (I’m assuming you’ll want another routine after year 1…  That’s $33/month for your whole family!  That’s less than your cable bill… I’m just sayin’…  I won’t quantify the cost savings of your time, gas, new workout clothes, replacement headphones, waterbottles etc. that you left the last time you went to the gym…

Still have questions?  I’d love to hear them!  Need help selecting the right workout program for you?  I’m here to help. 🙂


, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Nabilla on January 3, 2012 - 6:31 am

    Definitely agree – working out at home is convenient but it requires more discipline as the motivation would mostly have to come from you entirely. I try to set aside the first 10mins of my morning to a simple sun salutation but even then there are days when it is so much more easier to spend that extra 10 mins in bed instead 🙂

    • #2 by Fitness PhoenixX on January 3, 2012 - 1:34 pm

      I wholeheartedly agree that it requires a good bit of discipline (although, so does going to the gym). But, it can be a challenge when there are so many other things that ‘should’ be done around the house instead – dishes, laundry, vacuuming etc. and all the things that don’t need to be done.. tv, hanging out on facebook or youtube. I have fallen victim to these lures as well. I think 10 min in the AM is a fantastic idea. Unfortunately, waking up is the HARDEST thing for me too! I have never been able to get out of bed.. well, maybe twice… I think if you are able to think of exercise as one of the things you ‘need and WANT to do.’ it makes it easier – make it a priority over dishes and laundry – it’s your HEALTH at stake- in terms of healthcare costs and quality of life- that’s worth more than any small household chore. If you find a way to get out of bed- let me know! (I’ll have a new schedule in a week and it would be ideal if I could wake up to workout…) 🙂 Thanks for reading!!

  2. #3 by laylahca on January 3, 2012 - 6:26 pm

    Great tips! My husband and I are considering getting a used treadmill and putting together a little home workout area in the garage, with some free weights. Thanks for publishing!

    • #4 by Fitness PhoenixX on January 3, 2012 - 6:41 pm

      Glad you liked them! 🙂 I had a Treadclimber at one time (Similar to a treadmill but does the “step” thing..) I used it for several months but then got addicted to Turbo Jam and abandoned it… It moved on to a new owner to make more room for kicks & punches! When putting together a home gym make sure you consider your particular level of fitness, exercises you enjoy & know how to do, the space you have, climate control etc. I found that being able to watch tv while on the Treadclimber helped me keep with it. If you have a concrete floor make sure to get some mats & rugs – if you do any kind of jumping you need some cushion for your knees & for on-the-ground moves a THICK mat makes all the difference! Free weights are great- you’ll need a variety but I did find that the adjustable kind, while taking up “less space” wound cause me to take an extra 20 minutes of time b/c I would need to add/remove plates between exercises. Hmmm… Maybe I’ll write a post about home gyms. 🙂 Thanks for following!

  3. #5 by Busy Body on January 3, 2012 - 7:31 pm

    As an avid gym free fitness buff and mobile personal trainer, I completely agree with all you say! Nothing is more gratifying than fitness on your terms!!!

    • #6 by Fitness PhoenixX on January 3, 2012 - 8:01 pm

      I thought we might have similar fitness philosophies 🙂

  4. #7 by treeparker on January 3, 2012 - 9:34 pm

    Love to hear your recommendations for those with limited space (such as no space for equipment) and the garage isn’t much of an option since it is unbearably cold out there right now (14 degrees today) and in the summer unbearably hot (upwards of 100). I am assuming a good dvd workout would be good but I have issues with knees and back. That’s why I usually go to the gym pool and walk and do stretches. But for times when I can’t get to the pool, I’d like to do a workout at home. Or even add one in the evenings.

    • #8 by Fitness PhoenixX on January 3, 2012 - 10:30 pm

      Great question! Extreme temperatures are the primary reason I don’t run – on very beautiful days I will take my dogs out jogging but it’s a rarity here in Georgia (usually much too hot and now too cold..) You are right that your garage is probably not the ideal workout space! Do you have space in your living room or office/spare room? DVD’s are excellent. A lot of people have trouble with their knees & back and it is important to choose a workout program that you can modify to prevent injury. High-impact exercises are obviously not ideal. (Swimming is great!) Did you have injuries? What kind of pain is it?

      Also, slower movements tend to allow you more control over your body so that you don’t wrench a weak area too quickly. It doesn’t sound like you’ve done much resistance training. Have you ever used resistance bands or free weights? Cardio exercise is important but so are muscle-strengthening exercises. Especially as we get older since we start losing muscle in our 30’s! Muscle requires more energy than fat and so will not only help you lose more weight but also allow you a higher calorie budget.

      The right kind of resistance training will not only help build muscle but can also raise your heart rate and give you a “cardio effect” similar to jogging or other aerobic exercise. Pilates, Yoga and Weight Training might be good options for you. Also, these don’t require too much space since you won’t be doing burpee’s, running, kicking etc. A set of resistance bands are inexpensive, small and light and can be stored pretty much anywhere- a great option to save space & money! I do like my weights but they require a little more room…

      Note: Many good cardio DVD’s will have someone modifying the exercise to make it lower-impact but I would use these cautiously since they are generally fast-paced.

      A couple DVD’s I would recommend: Total Body Solutions by Debbie Siebers http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IB9zBdaYF_o, potentially Les Mills Pump http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PuRxNq4e6i8 or Chalean Extreme http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lrbzdb9gD10 (I have used this one- she shows modifications and how to use the bands instead of weights)

      Always remember to use light weights, don’t bend your knees past what is comfortable and stop if it becomes painful, avoid “twisting” and keep your back straight (never “Round”).

      This sounds like another good post topic… 🙂
      http://www.webmd.com/back-pain/lower-back-pain-10/slideshow-exercises

  5. #9 by Carnisha on January 6, 2012 - 6:19 pm

    Those are excellent reasons to exercise at home. You are convincing a gym-rat!

    • #10 by Fitness PhoenixX on January 6, 2012 - 7:11 pm

      lol 🙂 I have a gym membership and it is walking distance to my house but every time I think of going I end up working out at home instead! (I’ll probably cancel it soon.. there’s no point in wasting the $20/month…) Why waste the 10 minutes? Find presentable clothes? Dirty machines? I prefer Turbo Fire!! Let me know if you want advice on workout DVD’s or have any questions.

  6. #11 by shortdigs on January 22, 2012 - 4:36 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog. We seem to have a lot in common about fitness and helping others! I am starting the 8th week of P90x2 and I have already planned to do a hybrid of P90x2 and Asylum when I finish. p90X2 is my favorite thus far. I am a busy person and there is nothing like rolling out of bed and working out before my busy day. I agree with your benefits of working out at home.
    http://fitnessforlifeandpleasure.com/

  7. #12 by johnandtony1 on January 24, 2012 - 12:36 am

    HI, PhoenixX –

    Thanks for stopping by our blog. Your comments much appreciated. Also, great job on this post. You make a good case for ‘homework.’

    Tony

    http://guysandgoodhealth.com

  8. #14 by char on February 5, 2012 - 1:51 am

    I love working out alone at home. It does take discipline, but it’s so less stressful than going to the gym. What do you think of this new Tabata workout system? My son just showed it to me the other day.

    • #15 by Fitness PhoenixX on February 5, 2012 - 12:52 pm

      Thanks for stopping by & reading! 🙂 I hadn’t heard of “Tabata” before but looked it up briefly. It looks like the theory of ‘Anaerobic’ exercise. I think it is legitimate. I don’t know if ONLY 8 minutes every 3 days alone w/o any strength or aerobic exercise would actually show superior benefits but I DO think that it is an excellent way to train to improve metabolism, cardiovascular fitness and achieve weight loss. Turbo Fire uses this technique in conjunction w/ strength & aerobic exercise (this is the program I am using now) and I think so does Insanity. I’ll read up on “Tabata” more – sounds like an interesting post – thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

What are your thoughts?

